Chris Paxton McMillin is Speaking on Authentic eLearning Localization: Challenges and Best Practices

Emma_Stanley
Emma_Stanley Community Member, Administrator, Moderator, Rockstar Manager, Lectora® Accessibility Group (LAUG) Member, eLearning Brothers® Partner Posts: 50 eLearning ROCKSTAR Admin Team
Join us November 10th, 2022 at 9:30 am PST, 12:30 pm EST, 5:30 pm GMT

To avoid awkward (and sometimes disastrous) learning content, instructional designers must use authentic translation in the right context to ensure optimal results. For example, even a simple phrase like “got milk?” translates to “are you lactating?” in Mexico. Can you imagine what a straight translation might do to your course?

With over 317 million people in the U.S., and over 6.7 billion potential customers in the world, personalizing training seems logical. People prefer to learn in their native language, so localizing eLearning helps truly engage learners and gives them that much-needed sense of inclusion.

In addition to ensuring your text and narration get converted to the target language accurately, how your content is presented with images and tone must also be culturally appropriate and acceptable. Here’s the good news: even if you are only fluent in your native language, the process isn’t as daunting as you might think.

Join us for this exclusive webinar with Chris Paxton as she walks us through:
  • The key steps you can take to optimize your eLearning content for various international audiences
  • The common challenges instructional designers and other learning professionals come across when implementing localization
  • The best practices you can utilize to ensure a successful and logical translation experience