eLBX Online 2021 | June 22 - 24


Join us for a FREE, 3-day virtual conference featuring industry experts and eLearning thought leaders. Learn about critical topics such as eLearning accessibility, learning experience design, course authoring, virtual reality, and gamification. Register today!
CHECK IT OUT

Websites refuse to connect for hyperlinks for new windows

rwvaughn
rwvaughn Community Member Posts: 9 ♪ Opening Act ♪
Websites that use security measures to deter "clickjacking" are prevented from being displayed in a new window with Edge and Chrome showing "refused to connect" messages. I can use javascript to do this, but ideally would like to open all external webpage targets, in a new tab. Regular Windows sometimes has a CNTRL+Click keyboard option to open links in a new tab (try it on this blog's breadcrumb above) Assuming that end users DO NOT customize browser settings from default to open all popups in a new tab, can anyone confirm that this is impossible and why?

Answers

  • andrew-robertson
    andrew-robertson Community Member Posts: 129 ☆ Superstar ☆
    How is your action being set? I've had 0 issues related to this oddly and would like to try it out further.
    Andrew R.
    Developing content since 2010 using a mixed bag of tools.
  • rwvaughn
    rwvaughn Community Member Posts: 9 ♪ Opening Act ♪

    The action is hyperlinked text and not a button. (What difference would that make?) So you have had 0 issues? Send me a screenshot of Google Search in a new window using standard Go To Web Address > , New window settngs.

  • andrew-robertson
    andrew-robertson Community Member Posts: 129 ☆ Superstar ☆
    How do you want me to provide that to you? From simple review mode? From my LMS? From a simple standalone HTML exported webpage?
    Andrew R.
    Developing content since 2010 using a mixed bag of tools.
  • rwvaughn
    rwvaughn Community Member Posts: 9 ♪ Opening Act ♪

    Preview in browser mode is fine. Just for fun, set the new window size to 800 x 600.

  • andrew-robertson
    andrew-robertson Community Member Posts: 129 ☆ Superstar ☆
    edited June 15, 2021
    As requested.









    Andrew R.
    Developing content since 2010 using a mixed bag of tools.
  • rwvaughn
    rwvaughn Community Member Posts: 9 ♪ Opening Act ♪

    Thanks for taking the time. I can only do this with JS (window.open) Couple of questions: Will it work in an AU? Are you using a VPN? Other than that I got nothing.

  • rwvaughn
    rwvaughn Community Member Posts: 9 ♪ Opening Act ♪

  • carlfink
    carlfink Community Member Posts: 874 ♦ Idol ♦
    rwvaughn said:

    Thanks for taking the time. I can only do this with JS (window.open) Couple of questions: Will it work in an AU? Are you using a VPN? Other than that I got nothing.

    Are you using a VPN or other security software that might interfere? Can you try it on another device, ideally one outside your corporate network?
  • rwvaughn
    rwvaughn Community Member Posts: 9 ♪ Opening Act ♪
    Couple of things I see, now that I have studied your screenshots...
    Looks like Preview in Browser mode opens a new tab, not a new window, but run mode and Preview mode all open new windows. (I am amazed how many blogs just say "new window/tab" We can open embedded PDFs in a sized new window, but PDFs on the Web open in a new tab. We are trying to aim for consistency. documents and PDFs, like job aids need to open in a new window, websites and other exernal resources need to open in a new tab. Of course users can configure their browsers, I understand that, but I have to build assuming default settings. What it looks like on the LMS is all that really matters. since there is no Lectora setting for open in new tab vs. open in new window, it is a dog to figure out. Odd that when I ran the run mode to launch the link first, and then ran the Preview mode, it worked, but Preview in Browser gets wonky.
  • andrew-robertson
    andrew-robertson Community Member Posts: 129 ☆ Superstar ☆
    edited June 15, 2021
    Ahh. Yes, I understand your need - we do it the same way with linking PDF jobaids and websites. We always open in a new window because we don't want the user to inadvertently close the window that contains the link to the LMS.

    I vaguely recall reading or someone telling me that I couldn't control what opens in a tab or new window because it is all based on the user's configuration - but I've been wrong before.

    Once I have a chance, this week I will try to create a dummy module in an AU and publish to my LMS for testing and send you that package.
    Andrew R.
    Developing content since 2010 using a mixed bag of tools.
  • rwvaughn
    rwvaughn Community Member Posts: 9 ♪ Opening Act ♪

    Okay, here are three URLs. None will open the same using the Go To Web Address > New > Window (Default settings). These links are in the same text box.

    https://www.samhsa.gov
    https://www.cdc.gov/niosh/topics/respirators/
    https://www.cms.gov/Regulations-and-Guidance/
    Legislation/CLIA/Downloads/ppmplist.pdf

    Try them by setting the size of the new window (800 x 600) in both Run and Preview in Browser modes, and then see the results in IE, Chrome and Edge. It will be fun.
Sign In or Register to comment.

So You Wanna Be An eLearning ROCKSTAR?

We're all fans of eLearning here! Want to become an eLearning ROCKSTAR? Just click on one of the buttons below to start your rocking journey!