File Recovery After Unsaved Work Option

azsafety
azsafety Community Member Posts: 31
By this stage in my career I should be flogged for making a mistake like this. It's actually a series of bad practices leading up to a gut wrenching possibility. Instead of starting fresh, I initiated a new title over an old template. The problem is the template was mistakenly the source file for a course already published. When the option of get unsaved work was selected it erased the previous title.

I did a system restore to two days prior to this happening. The Lectora file was not affected. I thought all file return to their states the time the system save point was created.

Is the file gone forever?

Comments

  • klaatu
    klaatu Community Member Posts: 988
    So you opened the master template and didn't do a save as and overwrote the template? Probably all of us have done that one, ONCE. Getting it back is doubtful at best. If you are on a windows machine you can try to right click what used to be the master template file in windows explorer and choose 'restore previous versions', however, I don't think you'll have success there. Another possible option is file recovery software but even that won't work depending on how the overwrite was handled. Some applications create a temporary file out of the original and when the new one is saved with a different name the original is deleted.

    How much did you alter the master?  Worse case scenario, you'll have to re-build the master template using the one you saved on top of it as a start.

    Undelete software may be your best bet.

     
Sign In or Register to comment.

So You Wanna Be An eLearning ROCKSTAR?

We're all fans of eLearning here! Want to become an eLearning ROCKSTAR? Just click on one of the buttons below to start your rocking journey!