Mouse over to reveal and keyboard accessibility

klytrinh
klytrinh Community Member Posts: 1
Hi there,

Are buttons that have a mouse over to reveal text, accessible by keyboard?

In other words, can I activate the button with the keyboard so that the text to shows?

This is my first time on this forum - hope I've posted in the right place.

- Karen Trinh

Comments

• ssneg
    ssneg Community Member Posts: 1,466 ☆ Roadie ☆
    I don't think there is a button shortcut but you could create one using JavaScript. Something like this (incomplete, just off top of my head):

document.addEventListener("keydown", keyDownPressed, false);
    function keyDownPressed(e) {
    var keyCode = e.keyCode;
    if(keyCode==18) { //alt key
    var trgt = document.activeElement;
    //get the element name, e.g. button38btn
    //construct the onMouseEnter function's name, e.g. button38onOver
    //fire the function
    }
    }

Alternatively, you could bind onfocus and onblur events to Lectora's Mouse Enter and Mouse Exit events, so that when learner uses Tab to select a button, the hover action fires, and when they use Tab to move on to the next button, the mouse-out action fires. Something like this (for every button on the page):
    document.getElementById('button38btn').onfocus = button38onOver
    document.getElementById('button38btn').onblur = button38onOut
  • lsilver
    lsilver Community Member Posts: 80
    Hi Karen - Welcome to the forum! This is definitely the right place to ask and answer questions related to accessibility.

Keep in mind that any actions that require the use of a keyboard (like on Mouse Enter or on Mouse Exit) aren't accessible in that they cannot be recognized by assistive technology like screen readers, and they require the use of a mouse. One option then is to add an additional Mouse Click action to the button with duplicate actions to perform the same functionality.